Calendar Sharing Options for Google Apps

Within your domain, each user can set different access levels to have full control over who has access to event information on their own calendars.

To set the access levels in a personal calendar:

  1. Log in to your calendar at calendar.google.com.

  2. Click the gear at the top then click Settings.

  3. Click Calendars.

  4. Click Share this calendar.

    • Select the checkbox next to Share this calendar with others. To show only your free/busy information, selectShare only my free/busy information (hide details).

If you don't see all of these options, you may need to speak with your domain administrator to enable these features.

To add someone to your calendar (to give calendar access to a particular person):

  1. Type the person's full email address in the Share with specific people box.

  2. Select a level of access for that person

  3. Click Add person.

More Information:

Share with others

  • Share this calendar with everyone in the organization...

  • No one outside your domain can see anything at all about your calendar. There are two cases that will override this:

    • If you invite someone outside your domain to a meeting, he or she can see information about the meeting, but nothing else about your calendar.

    • If you share your calendar with someone outside your domain, he or she can see free/busy information on your calendar.

  • Selecting Make this calendar public and choosing See only free/busy (hide details)

  • People outside your domain can see free/busy information on your calendar. They can also invite your calendar to events.

Share with my domain

My domain means everyone within my domain. You have three choices for how much access users within your domain have to your calendar:

  1. Deselecting Share this calendar with everyone in the organization... means that users within your domain have no access whatsoever to your calendar.

  2. Selecting Share this calendar with everyone in the organization... and choosing See all event details means that users within your domain can view your calendar and invite you to events, but they cannot see the details of events marked as private.

  3. Selecting Share this calendar with everyone in the organization... and choosing See only free/busy (hid details) means that users within your domain can see when your calendar is booked and when it has free time, but they cannot see the names or details of any of your events.

Share with specific people

You can also grant the following levels of access to particular people for a particular calendar:

  • Make changes AND manage sharing

  • This person has owner rights to this calendar. Please note that your domain admin may restrict granting someone outside of your domain this level of access to your primary calendar.

  • Make changes to events

  • This person can see and change all events, including private ones. You cannot grant someone outside your domain this level of access to your primary calendar.

  • See all event details

  • This person can view the details of all events except those marked as private.

  • See free/busy information (no details)

  • This person can see when your calendar is booked and when it has free time, but will not be able to see the names or details of any of your events.

Still have questions?

Not to worry, we're here for you!